Mel’s blog

adventures in detroit and around the world

can’t start this fight

In just a few short days I begin studying for Step 1. I have just under 5 weeks to prepare for my test on June 18th.

I started following Carlos Whittaker’s blog a few months ago.  He’s a worship leader out of Atlanta who just dropped his first album a few weeks ago.  I’ve been so blessed by one of his songs – “Can’t start this fight” as I’ve dealt with so many doubts and fears heading into this study month.

“The bar is high and I am low
and I have found the only hope
When you are Lord then I am free
of all the things that cripple me

Cause you are strong when I am weak
and you have fought this fight for me
so Spirit reign inside of me
I’m crying out I’m begging please
I’m on my knees…”

I can’t do this on my own, but I’m so thankful I have the One who’s strong on my side.  He’s been giving me so much peace the last couple weeks, that I can’t even help but have a heart that’s overflowing with thanksgiving.

I’ll probably be deactivating facebook, but you can email me at mashnimel@gmail.com if you’d like to get in touch.  I’d appreciate any encouragement or hello’s 🙂 And please, pray!

May 8, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

this is our city, 2

[can you see the ren cen?]


May 8, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment