Mel’s blog

adventures in detroit and around the world

I wonder

P1040454

I often wonder at the complexity of the immune system.  At the ferocity of cytotoxic T cells (also known as “serial killers”).  At all the checks and balances and cytokines working together to keep immune responses in line.

And at neutrophils.  I wonder if God thought of his Son when he created these little cells that die at the expense of saving the greater body.

I wonder what kind of place Detroit would be if there were more jobs than people.   I wonder what Chene street used to look like before all the shops were closed and abandoned.  I wonder if the city will ever be restored to what it once was.  Or better.

I wonder if passion is contagious.  And if RunDetroit might just be able to make a difference.

I wonder about the people we met in India.  About the HIV -afflicted family that we sponsored – I wonder if the money is helping the kids get an education.  And about the kids at the orphanages.  I wonder if they think of us, or if they forgot.

I wonder where I’ll be in a year.  What hospital I’ll be rotating at, and just what it will be like to be, for the first time in my life, on a work-based schedule instead of a lecture-based schedule.

I wonder if I should get back to studying since I have an immuno exam tomorrow.  Or not.  Ok maybe just a couple more lectures.

August 15, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | 3 Comments